The Clown at the Top of the Stairs

The Clown at the Top of the Stairs

The Clown at the Top of the Stairs

I closed my eyes as hard as they would go, somehow thinking it would make me quieter. I twisted the knob, deliberately and delicately, praying and hoping the door wouldn’t make any noise as I pushed it open.
I opened my eyes. A scream flew out of my throat when I saw the clown staring at me. I saw the frame and realized it was only a painting. The giant round red nose pulsated, and the clown appeared to swim flat against the wall, one eye at a time bulging. My heart was trying to break free through my throat.

~Yarn, MEOWING ON THE ANSWERING MACHINE

Speak Your Piece:

